An Aspect of Compassion

“One aspect of compasion is to respect others’ rights and to respect others’ views.  That is the basis of reconciliation.  The human spirit of reconciliation based on compassion is working deep down, whether the person really knows it or not.  

Our basic human nature is gentleness; therefore, no matter how much we go through violence and other bad things, ultimately the proper solution is to return to human feeling and affection.  So affection or compassion is not only a religious matter, but in our day-to-day life it is quite indispensable.

                     ~Dahli Lama

Respect, much of what I came to believe during my youth had to be unlearned for me to understand the Wisdom I have found to be essential in embracing different religions and cultures.  I was raised on television bravado, such as John Wayne, where respect had to be earned or you didn’t get it.  This is a TERRIBLE foreign relations policy, since there is usually distrust and often animosity between differing cultures and beliefs.  We all value things differently, we all place different importance on family dynamics, politics, Life (both natural and spiritual)…in effect for each and every one of these we all wear different sets of glasses and so when we look at the scenes before us, though we may be looking at the very same thing, we each perceive something far different from each other.

There are two facets to respect that I would wish people to embrace whenever they are interrealating with another human being.  1.) The right to their own views.  2.)Position

The first is often acknowledged at some level, but not really embraced.  Being from the Christian tradition I’ll use that as my example:  I often see and hear Christians give a nod towards religious freedom, but then will blatantly offend anyone and everyone by our actions insisting that Only Christians will ever know anything about God because that is what some scripture seem to convey, and our right to religious freedom allows us to act like a total asses and imply that they are going STRAIGHT TO HELL!!  It’s fear mongering, used control others to get them to behave the way we believe is RIGHT!  Then when confronted with our behavior we will proceed to pull our own Bible to prove to the non-Christians what Christianity teaches so we are OBVIOUSLY right,  as if non-Christians give a damn about such proofs as this.  Then we are flabbergasted by the rude behavior they given in return and announce to our brethren how the actions of the offended is evidence of their lack of relationship with God.  Before I go any further, as I’ve pointed out on posts and pages, this behavior is common to fundamentalists in every religion, not just Christianity…I just point the finger at my own group because their the only ones I can influence, I’m not a member of the others, but I respect them.

The ability to live neighborly is essential to good relations.  This is respect, it isn’t earned, but we can earn it by first showing it.  More often than not, people will be respectful in return, and the one group I would point out that should do so regardless to return is my own: “whoever slaps you on your right cheek, turn to him the other also.” (Matthew 5:39).  Notice how I did that, I wrote this post for all to read, I used my own group as an example of what not to do, and then I quoted verses for why ONLY my group should behave this way, not why others should.  I don’t use the Bible to teach non-christians (but that is for another post!)

The second facet to RESPECT is positional.  We are all humans!  We all breathe the same air, have the same blood, require the same nourishment, are born with same flesh, and face the same fate as we grow older (physical death), so how is it we will give positional respect to an actor, a sport star, a politician, a clergy member, or any other number of things, but we won’t treat the position of human with the same dignity?  There are always people we can point to who won’t do this, what I’m looking for is people who will, because I dare to believe and dream in a world where RESPECT is not only a RIGHT, but a REALITY!

29 thoughts on “An Aspect of Compassion

  1. Very clever way to highlight respect and tolerance. As you point out, many people “talk” a good game when it comes to religious (and otherwise) respect, but their actions belie the words.

  2. The second facet to RESPECT is positional. We are all humans! We all breathe the same air, have the same blood, require the same nourishment, are born with same flesh, and face the same fate as we grow older (physical death), so how is it we will give positional respect to an actor, a sport star, a politician, a clergy
    member, or any other number of things, but we won’t treat the position of human with the same dignity? There are always people we can point to who won’t do this, what I’m looking for is people who will, because I dare to believe and dream in a world where RESPECT is not only a RIGHT, but a REALITY!
    =====================================================
    yeah i agree with you bro, great post 🙂

  3. This is a beautiful and inspiring post 🙂 Some people believe that feelings will only weaken them when it is the contrary that applies. Being human is what makes us stronger.

  4. Great summary of what I’ve felt, thought and said regarding relations between different walks of faith for a long time. We are all teachers and can learn from each other….each interaction has the potentional to be a “teachable moment.” When we remain openminded we remain teachable. This is the primary reason I don’t fly under particular flag as far as religion…just pagan…not of the church.

  5. If only christians would realize that they turn more people off than on with their need to proselytize. Many are not interested in christianity and take offense at the suggestion that because we don’t believe in christians’ jesus or god means something is wrong with us.
    I like the way you covered this in your post. I hear and respect your anger towards the judgment of people, one to the other. Nice post and well said.

    • Thank you for your comment, it is a blessing and a joy for me to have fellowship with people of all beliefs and every culture, there is so much I can learn from you and from others, and ultimately my relationship with each of you makes me a better human and a better friend. Thanks again for your visit and esteem. 🙂

  6. Beautiful post! Thank you so much for checking out my blog and becoming a “follower.” I am honored. I hope you have a blessed and peaceful weekend. If you liked my blog, when you have a moment, I would love it if you checked out my art and photography on my new website: http://www.FairesFineArt.com. Thanks again. You have helped me to feel welcome in the blogging community. I have only been doing this since April so it is exciting for me;)

    Warmly,

    k i m b y

  7. As Bishop Tutu and his wife taught their children – how can we expect people to respect others if they have not been taught how to respect themselves?

    We never know when we are modelling self-respect. If we practice it with gentleness and consistency, someone may dare to mimic.

    • Exactly….and, I had the privilege of hearing Bishop Tutu speak a little over a decade ago. Thank you, both for the comment and the great memory that just brought to my mind. 🙂

  8. Hi, my name is songtothesirens (not really), but I like it as a screen name. I am a Nichiren Buddhist by way of spiritual faith. One of our most fundamental concepts is that everyone; homeless people, prostitutes, drug addicts, alcoholics, and people who give off the air of respectability are to be treated with humanitarian compassion and the respect that every being inherently deserves no matter what their station in our society.

    We believe that every living creature has a “Buddha Nature” within them. We have simply forgotten that we are indeed Buddhas which is why we chant Nam Myoho Renge Kyo twice a day; morning and evening ~ it is to align ourselves with the powers of the Universe that pervade everything from conversation to blogging. It literally means: Devotion to the Mystic Law of simultaneity (cause and effect) through the use of sound or the vibration of our voices while we chant this mantra. As far as cause and effect, negative causes (thought, action or speech) will inevitably lead to a negative effect. It just may not manifest itself right away, and sometimes it does. The same holds true for positive causes. You make a positive thought, action or speech, and you will have positive effects. This is a universal law. It is not unique to Buddhism. It pervades everything we do, say or think. You do something wrong, you get back what you put in. You act in respectful and compassionate way, and you will receive respect and compassion in return. You do not have to “earn” respect. You have an innate right to it. You give a person respect, they will treat you in kind.

    You mentioned that the faith you are most familiar with is Christianity. I had the honor of being asked to stay with a senior member (43 years of practice to my 3 and 1/2) when she was scheduled to be visited by the Latter Day Saints for a discussion of the LDS Church’s beliefs versus our Buddhist beliefs. I think the poor man who was obviously quite entrenched in his faith did not know what to do with us. We practice an ancient Eastern Philosophy compared to their relatively new Western Philosophy. For every question or statement he made, we respectfully gave our own. He could not answer our questions regarding how it is better to give up your life to a power that is external to yourself rather than mastering one’s baser nature so that a higher nature can emerge. Nichiren Buddhists believe that everything lies in positive, determined action to prevail over all the struggles one my encounter during one’s lifetime. We also figure if struggles and problems are going to appear as part of life, why not enjoy life and use your obstacles as stepping stones to a more enlightened, wiser, happier self. I could go on for days on the subject of theology and how different every one is.

    But, I do agree with your post. Everyone should be treated in an equal manner. Everyone is worthy of respect, love, compassion and a firm awareness that you really are not that much different from one another. I just wish that certain ideologies which shall remain nameless would learn to walk their talk. You cannot just go to Confession every week, be absolved of your “sins”, and then continue on your merry way only to be confessing the same things next week. Respect and compassion for life doesn’t really work that way. And that’s just one not so veiled example.

    • Thank you for this post…I love hearing from members of other traditions, and having a healthy dialogue that promotes openness and love rather than deters it from becoming. I believe in the Oneness of all things, and the cultivation of the self in that Oneness,but my practice is still Christian, I just practice with honest respect for my human family and seek to live in harmony with the Universe that is as much me as I am it. Thank you again for sharing this, I enjoyed reading this comment to my post very much. 🙂

  9. BTW, congratulations on your sobriety. i have been through it several times before it finally really stuck. So, I think congratulations are in order. it certainly the easiest undertaking in the world 🙂

  10. “The ability to live neighborly is essential to good relations.” This is a great sentiment, which I think shows the value of respecting human dignity, and supports the saying “treat others as you would like to be treated.”

    Your post is wonderful! Thanks for sharing and thank you so much for visiting my blog! Have a great day! Cindy

  11. It is the insistence that one can only have the right values if they are defined as Christian Values that actually annoys me the most about the way some Christians view their place in Society.
    One does not need a set of laws defined by a particular religion to feel compassion towards others and to be a member of a society based upon a caring value system.
    I also agree that the World would be a much better place if RESPECT is a reality as well as a right.

    However, I noticed evilnymphstuff’s comment – “Some people believe that feelings will only weaken them when it is the contrary that applies. Being human is what makes us stronger.” And, although I agree that our feelings, as humans, should never be ignored, I can understand why some would shy away from this.

    You quote from the Dahli Lama, that “Our basic human nature is gentleness”, but I would argue that this may be what we want it to be, but in certain circumstances (defense of our families for example), we lose our gentleness in the face of threats to our and our families being.
    This is one of the reasons why there are those who would have us follow their particular religion. They look at our reactions in the face of force and feel that human nature is basically violent, rather than compassionate.
    You could argue, as does the Dahli Lama, that, after we have fought our way through a period of violence, “ultimately the proper solution is to return to human feeling and affection.” But those who look at the interim period see a different picture. Hence their insistence upon rules, and a defined set of values – to keep society at the compassionate level, rather than allowing it to drift away into violent conflict.
    I’m not saying this is right, by the way, as I have more faith in human nature than this, it is just that I can see both sides of the argument. 🙂

  12. Zion, thank you for spreading wisdom and light. These words are anthological:”We are all humans! We all breathe the same air, have the same blood, require the same nourishment, are born with same flesh, and face the same fate as we grow older.” Will quote you shamelessly! 😉

  13. Thanks for your perspective. I see friends and acquaintances struggling daily, trying to figure out what their value is in our modern society. They (myself included) long to be valued by our neighbors, community, society. We long for RESPECT, and we are often searching for it in all of the wrong places. Most of us would do well to remember our life before kindergarten, and search inside ourselves to find our intrinsic values and learn to respect ourselves. Respect from others will follow later.

Comments are closed.