One of my favorite places…

Pondering the world from the heavenly places.

I know my time is very limited before my departure from Hawaii, on Monday.  On my way to the East side to stay with friends in Hilo, I detoured from the saddle to traverse the peaks of Mauna Kea, and stroll at heights that allow me the unique vantage of quite literally being able to stand above the city of Gods, and ponder why they chose Mount Olympus (a mere 10k ft elevation).

Mauna Kea, means White Mountain in the native language of the Hawaiians, one of the only places to experience snow in this tropical paradise.  The air is crisp today, and the cool temp has a strange dichotomy with the warmth of the tropical sun that warms the skin and scorches the rocks.  It feels odd yet comforting, to be cold, and aware of an impending burn about to form on one’s bare chest.  Given my disability, and the unique way I have at viewing life around me, I’m always attracted to duality in every experience in this life.  To be above the world, above it’s problems, above the chaos, yet still a part of it all…there is so much to take in with each nuance of experience in this place above the Gods.

Today, I take my throne upon the White Mountain and write of Love and Gods, while feeling peace and balance with the universe both still above me and so much of my experience received from the realms below me.  It’s been 3 years since I last sat upon this throne, and though I cherrish the memory, I’m far more inclined to leave this position today reaping the Wisdom of the moment far into the future than upon my last visitation.

My Mountain, my Throne, my Moment, I shall experience you again….

2 thoughts on “One of my favorite places…

    • I hope you do, it’s one of the most awe inspiring views on the planet, and to be there at sunset or sunrise is a true majestic experience; I’ve witnessed both. I’ve viewed the moon, and mars and Venus at night, and Venus by day once, and then there are the moments of daytime grandeur as I wrote above. It’s a wonderful place to be.

Comments are closed.