I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life.

“I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.”  John 14:6cross2

“The student is not above the teacher, but everyone who is fully trained will be like their teacher.”  Luke 6:40

“If you’re not willing to be Jesus, don’t preach Jesus.”  ~ proverb of Zion

I must admit, I followed what I was taught blindly a very long time before I stopped looking to others to teach me what they knew about Jesus and started listening to His teachings for myself.  I stopped buying bibles with commentary, and started writing in the margins as I pondered the Truths that seemed to resonate in the message that I found Jesus to be teaching.  It is a painful memory for me to acknowledge that through some of the toughest struggles in my life, when I sought fellow Christians for answers they quote things to me like:  “God never gives us more than we can handle.”  and “Just keep your eyes on Jesus, and He will lead you through it.”   Goddamn’t!  I am NOT the only one to learn that we often do face trials and challenges that are greater than we can handle.  I’ve said this before, if that statement were true, then there would be NO suicides in the history of the church, and that is just not the case.  That is not a comforting statement when we know a particular impediment to our path has repeatedly lead to failure!  I will never share this advice…it isn’t true…sometimes, we have to live with a reality that what we are facing will defeat us every time, and we have to find a new path, or die in anguish as we persist to our folly in a course that can’t be achieved.

Something to consider in light of the Truth.

Something to consider in light of the Truth.

One day, I was thinking to myself as I was reading some scripture about the other statement often quoted to me: ” Just keep your eyes on Jesus.”  another, “Trust the Lord, he will lead you through.”    I have many experiences of frustration in practising these as well.  How do I keep my eyes on Jesus, when I never see Him anywhere?  Whenever I trust in the Lord, an invisible entity, who when conversing with on many occasions, found my prayers to consists of a lonely monologue from yours truly?  I mean, supposedly when God led the slaves out of Egypt, he made an appearance…”By day the LORD went ahead of them in a pillar of cloud to guide them on their way and by night in a pillar of fire to give them light, so that they could travel by day or night.”  Exodus 13:21  When I would go to church the preacher would say, “it is Jesus who is the Truth.”  I never did find that quote in the gospels; Jesus never teaches, “look to me to find the Truth.”  I have a point for that statement, which I’ll share in a minute.  

I happened to have a mirror next to me, and I glanced at it while quoting what Jesus taught, “I am the Way, the Truth, and the Light, and no one comes to Father except through me.”  ….well, now I see someone saying this, and he looks just like me.  “I am the Way.”  It’s not “I am your Way.”  It’s “I am the Way.”  I don’t think Jesus was teaching me to believe he is my Truth, in that moment I understood, Jesus was giving a pattern to follow to find my Way, and to learn the Truth…”I am that Way”…If I am looking for someone to guide me through the chaos and to the answers I seek, then “Iam the guide that I must follow.” I pondered upon this, “How can I be the answer to my own question?”  ““Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.”  Matthew 7:7  Again, I applied the Truth I just learned, don’t ask the air, the answer is in me, or the wrong question has been asked.  When I need to know the Truth, I know this for a fact, I don’t lie to me.  I learned that the silence in my prayers was because if God speaks to me, it’s my voice he uses.  I don’t claim to be the Truth for any other person, but I do claim to be what Jesus taught me to be; and now when I need to follow the one who knows me better than anyone else, I look in the mirror, and I find the face of God, the revealer of Truth, and the Light that I depend on to reveal the path before me each day.   I don’t worship Jesus, I listen to him.

This is the Truth he taught:  in everyone’s mirror the face of Truth appears, and it isn’t Blasphemy to know that in your case, he has adopted a new name.  My Jesus, goes by Zion, now, I must remember when I walk away from the miror, the only Jesus I ever bring into anyones life, is the one I’m willing to be or I don’t bring Jesus at all.

 

Something to ponder next time you step to the looking glass.   The School and it's care givers.

15 thoughts on “I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life.

  1. Hi, thanks for the follow and the chance to “get to know you.” What you said about that horrible non-consolation that “God never gives us more than we can handle” really rings true for me. I’ve blogged about that myself (“Emanuel Consolation” on the FaithFamilyandFocaccia blog). I think it is often well-intentioned, but so damaging. I am glad you have found a release from that lie.

    • Thank you for the comment and I agree, for the downtrodden it can be one more slap, one more wall, in the already overburdened life that just needs a way out! They think, “What can I possibly be doing wrong if God makes such a promise? I must be the problem! I’m a failure! If we CAN’T succeed, we didn’t fail. There is a difference, when we are bereft of the ability to win the race more guilt is not a solution.

  2. Very interesting. I enjoy your concepts and your perception on church settings and seeking to apply the teachings, rather than to go through the motions.

  3. Excellently written! I can appreciate your concern with respect to commentaries; however, I believe there is quite a bit of wisdom we can glean from the work of others. Especially if we use discernment. Many times I find I disagree with the commentary, but there are other things with which I agree. Don’t look past the work of others, as we don’t want to reinvent the wheel. Commentaries are simply opinions of others to use or discard; you are right to focus on the biblical text! Thank you for sharing, my friend!

    • Listen, ponder, let it simmer, then survey the vast library of commentary so that our first thoughts our the seeds of the author, and then we will know this is what was born to me prior to outside influence upon this idea…it is good to have a practised understanding of how we ourselves percieve and think before we labor under another so that we become more than just a copy of a copy; we will find that in this, we begin to think for ourselves and become confident in our ability to arrive a different and sometimes unique conclusions from the many others before us who have done the same.

  4. You describe well your inner process, and I feel very close to it. That encourages me in the thought that experience is the field where I can explore the Truth beyond whatever scripture or belief. I feel the importance of your sharing. Please, continue doing it!

    • There is no greater source to pan for wisdom in each of our own lives than to toil and examine the experiences we continue to gather day after day along our way. Thank you, I will.

Please share your thoughts:

